Are you a worker living in Georgia? Do you know your legal rights?
If not, you should. The state of Georgia believes all employees have certain rights pertaining to their safety in the workplace. If these rights become violated, you have grounds for legal action against your employer.
But how do you learn more about Georgia workers compensation laws? When should you seek legal recourse?
Below, we’ll get into the top 5 states of Georgia workers’ compensation laws you need to know. Whether or not you’re investigating if you should hire a lawyer and take your employer to court, consider familiarizing yourself with your rights so that you can use them when needed.
Keep reading to learn more!
Georgia Workers Compensation Laws
Georgia workers compensation laws provide you with coverage in a variety of ways.
Even if you haven’t been injured on the job, it’s helpful to know which laws govern Georgia workers compensation. In the sections below, we’ll go into different aspects of Georgian laws for workers’ compensation.
1. You Are Entitled to Pay for Doctor-Recommended Recovery
Many employers give their workers a certain number of paid sick days per year. For the most part, these days provide the employee with the flexibility they need to stay home when they’re not feeling well and recover from minor procedures.
Yet, some people need more time. If you suffered an injury, for instance, and need an extensive recovery time, you may expend all of your sick days and worry about taking time without payment.
In Georgia, though, you don’t have to worry as much. Georgia state law on workers compensation entitles employees to two-thirds of their pay. The amount caps out at $675 per week. If employees can return to work part-time, they may receive as much as $450 per week.
2. Most Companies Must Have Workers’ Compensation Insurance
Georgian law requires all businesses with three or more employees to possess workers’ compensation insurance.
This insurance type covers your expenses if you ever become injured on the job and provide you with rehabilitation, medical, and income benefits. To verify whether or not your employer has coverage, visit www.sbwc.georgia.gov.
3. You Should Report an Injury Immediately
If you’ve been injured on the job, report as soon as possible.
The sooner you report your injury, the quicker you will get the benefits you need. Yet, if you don’t report within 30 days, you may lose your benefits.
4. Who Pays for Your Medical Treatment?
Your company’s insurance company should pay for any medical treatment you receive from a licensed physician as a result of a work-related injury.
To get payment, you may need to provide them with bills from your physician and other evidence. For a full picture of what you need to submit, consult the insurance company.
5. What Happens if Your Injuries Prevent You from Getting Another Job?
But what happens if you can never return to the same type of work?
Being unable to return to the same place of employment due to an injury seems daunting. You may wonder whether or not you’ll ever be able to replace your salary in full and worry about affording your daily necessities.
The state of Georgia has services which you should use. All injured Georgians who are unable to return to their place of work can receive help from the government in locating new employment.
American law also prohibits all employers from discriminating against people with disabilities and requires them to provide reasonable accommodation, as long as that accommodation does not pose an unsustainable difficulty on the company.
Want more information? Check out workcompgeorgia.com.
Have You Been Injured on the Job?
Now that you know about Georgia workers compensation laws, you’re ready to defend your rights when needed.
No one wants to get injured on the job. If you do, though, you have rights to fair compensation under Georgian law. By knowing the 5 regulations above, you will be able to take advantage of the law when needed.
Want more work and lifestyle advice? Read more of our articles today!